Moon signs

Moon signs
Moon sign or Rashi is one of the basic and defining parameters used in Indian astrology. Since Moon changes its sign after every 2 & 1/4 days, the vedic astrologers use its movement as a base parameter instead of Sun which moves from one house to next in a month's time. In Vedic Astrology the placement of the moon in a particular sign in the birth chart represents the Moon sign for the native.

Know your moon sign:
24-hour format

Click your moon sign to know more

Indian Astrology is predominantly a Moon Sign Astrology. Stemming from the Vedas which are the most ancient sacred texts of the world, Indian astrology or the Moon Sign astrology also talks about the same twelve signs found in the Sun Sign astrology system namely the following.

Twelve Rashis
Aries (Mesh), Taurus (Vrishabh), Gemini (Mithun), Cancer (Karka), Leo (Simha), Virgo (Kanya), Libra (Tula), Scorpio (Vrishchika), Sagittarius (Dhanush), Capricorn (Makar), Aquarius (Kumbh), Pisces (Meena)

Constellations are at the root of the Indian astrology. There are twenty four constellations in total and the movement of moon from one to the other constellation is studied in order to make astrological predictions.

Five elements
Vedas and shastras talk about five elements forming the basis of all astrological studies. The five elements are Sky (Akash), Air (Vayu), (Fire (Agni), Water (Apa), and Earth (Prithvi). These five elements are considered while studying the relationship between constellations, Rashis and Moon Signs. The first element or the Ether is given the greatest importance in Indian astrology. The position of ascendant stands for the ‘self’ in a person’s horoscope and hence it is very effective point. It is believed that the ascendant of every horoscope is ruled by the sky.

Calendar based on constellations
In the Indian astrology or Moon sign astrology, a calendar based on constellations is the key factor. The moon is the centre of this system. Moon is the ruler of minds and emotions. It is the fastest moving one among the nine planets that rule the horoscopes of every person. It is the closest heavenly body to the earth and hence its influence is so powerful and prominent on the lives of people. Since no action is possible without Moon’s support, the Moon Sign astrology gives prime importance to the position of the moon than the sun’s position.